Choosing to see His goodness in my life.

I want to share with you what’s been going on with me lately.

I had fallen into a rut (hence, the break I took from blogging for a while) and finally came out of it by the time Christmas rolled around. God pulled me out of it with His still small voice directing me in a way that I didn’t even realize was Him at the time. All He did was tell me to buy a gift for someone, and when I obeyed Him (not knowing it was Him for sure) it opened the door to this amazing journey I have been on. One small act of kindness inspired by the Holy Spirit set off this spiritual domino effect in me that I don’t think I could stop now if I wanted to.

I feel like ever since the beginning of December, God has been doing a lot in me each week and I just haven’t blogged about it.

Last weekend one of my best friends got married. My husband and I were both in his wedding. We have known for almost a year that we were going to be in the wedding party, but it didn’t really hit me until the day before the wedding that this scenario isn’t common for everyone.

Here is our friendship back story…

My friend and I went to a private school where the boys and girls are in separate classrooms for 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. The only co-ed class we would have together was math. I didn’t have many friends at the time. Little ole me goes to math class on the first day of 7th grade and I get assigned a seat behind this boy who was quiet and stayed to himself. I had to borrow so many pencils and paper from him the first week of school that we ended up having to talk. And I am so glad we did. He has truly been like family to me for almost 13 years.

Flash forward to 2010 when I meet the man who is now my husband. I let him know up front that my best friend was a guy, so obviously they had to meet sooner rather than later for both of them to have peace of mind. They met and became great friends…

Such good friends that my friend asked my husband to be his best man in his wedding. I almost cried with joy as I stood up there as a bridesmaid and looked on as my best friend got married with my husband standing behind him. I love both of those men more than I can express and in completely different ways. I am grateful to have them both in my life. Isn’t it beautiful how God can build those kinds of relationships and it is still only a fraction of what we can have with Him? I realized as I stood there that not everyone has that kind of friendship in their lifetime. The kind that is unconditional and rides out every storm. I’ve got that in both an old friend and a husband.

The wedding was beautiful but we were exhausted the next day and didn’t go to church. Which leads me to another cool thing that happened to me.

A couple weeks ago, I was contacted by someone to be a guest blogger for their new blog (you can check it out at The Pursuit of Happiness). I was excited because I am still new at this and it is challenging me to put my thoughts outside of myself in more ways than I am comfortable. Since I stayed home on Sunday, I was able to finally put my post together. It wasn’t much but I was happy with it. I sent it out and it was posted on Friday. I’ve already noticed some more traffic coming to my blog as a result of it. I care less about that and more about how I can hopefully have a positive impact on at least a few people for however long I do this. I’ve even felt the Lord nudging me to get into painting and possibly incorporate that into my blogging somehow. We’ll see how it goes!

After all of these things and other recent events, I’ve been overwhelmed with gratefulness for everything God is to me and everything He does in me. I don’t care that my life hasn’t looked “normal” for months now, or that I’ve had a cold for two weeks, or that I had to miss out on the birth of my great nephew because I have been so busy and sick. I feel the Presence of God all over my life and I know I’m right in the middle of His good and perfect will even if it don’t always feel like it. There is a knowing in my spirit that casts out any doubt that my flesh tries to feel.

Those are just some of the things I have had going on. God has been teaching me how to trust that I am hearing His voice in ways I never could before. He has shown me how to appreciate the things that seem small but are really life-changing. And he has taken away much of the fear of vulnerability that I have been struggling with for years. In many ways it’s like I am seeing the world through different eyes. My heart is full!

 

God is always moving. What are some things He has been teaching you lately? Comment below and tell me about it!

 

 

 

Katelyn

Follow me on Facebook: Pursuit and Perspective

2 thoughts on “Choosing to see His goodness in my life.

  1. Lately, He has been teaching me pursue whatever is in my gut, because if I feel it there, it’s from Him. That especially applies to topics for my blog and YouTube channel. He has also helped me to realize that when I get on a roll and am in a good place, evil comes at me in numerous small ways to discourage me and/or attempt to take productivity time away from me. I have two young girls so ammo isn’t hard to come by LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

